2 camere da letto, 2 bagni completi e una sala di lettura con enorme futon, 5 posti letto
Camere da letto
In Primo Piano
Requisiti di sicurezza
Per i pasti
Servizi sul posto
Regole della casa
Feste/eventi non ammessi
Smoking is permitted outside the house
Animali domestici non ammessi
Bambini non ammessi
Ospiti max:5 (fino a 5 adulti)
Politica di Cancellazione
Rimborso del 100% se si cancella la prenotazione almeno 60 giorni prima della data di arrivo.
Good, but could be great with a few tweaks.
My dealing with Jolene was mostly great.
Unfortunately due to an unexpected cyclone we didn't get there til two days later. However at one point it wasn't looking like we were going to be able to make it due to the cyclone and the bushfires in Australia which was causing a lot of the airlines to ground their planes.
When there was a very real possibility we wouldn't be able to make it at all, we advised Jolene. Sadly, they weren't very helpful and weren't willing to discuss a refund or even a partial refund despite it being out of everyones hands. Because of this, it tainted the experience.
Thankfully we made it but there are a couple of things they could be doing to better the experience.
1. Be willing to compromise under extenuating circumstances i.e a cyclone, bushfires, flights being cancelled etc.
2. Offer to drive your guests back to the airport.
3. You advertise wifi. The exact wording is” free wifi broadband internet” why then are we being told its capped at 8GB and we need to pay extra for more?
4. If you're going to keep it capped, offer a easy way to check the usage and advertise that on your listing.
5. On the listing it also says “Complimentary kayaks, paddle boards and snorkel gear available” when we got there Jolene made a point of stating “we’ve supplied the kayaks free of charge because of the issues you’ve all had getting here” so…that was some false goodwill generated. Disappointing.
6. You offer one roll of toilet paper. How is this not already included in a not so cheap accommodation? Its a basic human requirement. Especially since everyone prior has had to buy toilet paper and likely left some behind. Meaning the owner is not actually paying for the said toilet paper. And why not tell us while taking us to shops before we get to the house. Why find out after we get there which then forces us to go back (inconvenient) or to ration it out for a night between 4 people.
7. Provide bikes for your guests. That way they could bike into town instead of calling taxi’s all the time. You advertise hiring these but it could be a good way to stay competitive. Especially in the environmental climate we’re living in these days.
Hopefully this is received in the way it was intended. We did enjoy our time there and would love to visit again one day!
Thank you for your detailed review Yvette. I'm sorry you did not feel we were worthy of a 5 star review as virtually every guest we have ever had have given us excellent 5 star reviews. Yes, it is correct we weren't able to offer a refund if your stay was cancelled due to a tropical cyclone that threatened our country. Please do keep in mind, we are not a resort or a huge corporation that can absorb the expense of a last minute cancelled reservation. This effectively means we suffer substantial loss with no way of recouping with a new reservation and our HomeAway/VRBO cancellation policy reflects this. We will take on board your suggestion of returning our guests to the airport, thank you for this suggestion. Regarding the wifi, we advertise free wifi broadband and advise upon check in of the 8gb data cap. Due to heavy downloading and streaming of previous guests, we've had to introduce a data cap - this is a case of the few spoiling it for the many. We cannot offer guests access to their data usage, and this is not due to nefarious intentions, it's simply how our account is set up with our local internet provider, Connect Fiji. Using our secure logon and password, we are able to access our account and monitor data levels. If a guests wifi is going to run out, we will advise and query if a recharge is required. I would like to clarify the kayaks and paddleboards offer you were given. When you booked with us, kayaks and paddleboards were not complimentary and were charged at $25 FJD per day. We have since reviewed our pricing and decided to add complimentary kayaks/paddleboards as part of the tariff. For guests who booked prior to this review, the $25 FJD charge applies - as in your case. I'm sorry you feel false goodwill was generated by our sincere offer of complimentary kayaks and paddleboards. With regards to the supply of toilet paper, each bathroom is supplied with 2 toilet rolls. One toilet roll is on the roll holder and the other toilet roll is under the vanity which was shown to you upon check in. To claim we supplied only 1 roll of toilet paper for 4 people is simply untrue. However, I thank you for your suggestion regarding bicycles for hire, we will definitely think about adding this to our future guests experience.
To sum up, we were not given the opportunity to address your issues as you did not bring up ANY of your concerns during your stay. There was no indication that you were not 100% satisfied and completely enjoying your stay. It is apparent that House of Bamboo isn't suited to your needs and perhaps a stay at a fully catered large scale resort would've better suited.
The House of Bamboo is such a treat. Tucked away with beautiful views it truly is a hidden paradise.
The team that looks after The House of Bamboo is top notch and is available to support you throughout your stay. They really go above and beyond to capture what you would like for your holiday, and SavuSavu is a great base.
If you are looking to get away from the crowds and relax in a hidden paradise or ensconce yourself in true Fijian daily life, this place has something for everyone.
We so hope to get back one day and see all our wonderful new friends.
We loved our stay at the House of Bamboo in Savusavu. The views from the balcony are amazing. The pool was fun and there is so much to do in and around Savasavu. Bruce and Jolene were perfect hosts. Thank you for sharing the House of Bamboo with us.
Beautiful place, lovely staff. Spectacular views and the bats are so cool!!
Spectacular snorkeling right off out beach at the split rock! Gracies road kitchen is amazing food. Some internet difficulties. We absolutely loved it! We happily stay again!
Thank you Katherine, it was a pleasure meeting your group and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to have you return!
Most Relaxing Vacation Ever!
We spent a week at The House of Bamboo and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The view is amazing and the sky is constantly changing. We used the pool every day even in the warm rain and at night too. We soaked up the sunset one night from the pool and then enjoyed watching the birds and the bats flying until the stars came out. The house is well appointed with everything we needed. We really enjoyed cooking our own meals using fresh produce we bought on Saturday from the Savusavu market. I tried a rice cooker for the first time since it is there! We used the provided coffee and sugar every morning. The bed is very comfortable although we ended up not needing the comforter as it is plenty warm this time of year. There were no issues with hot water and the ability to do laundry at the house makes it possible to travel to Savusavu with only a few changes of clothes!
We loved spending time talking with Jolene and learning about Fiji and the local area. Her advice and suggestions were invaluable. We walked the beach past the Cousteau resort at low tide, used the provided snorkeling equipment to look at the fish and coral in the bay, took the kayaks out around the small islands south of the resort, and rented a car from Budget for a day and drove over to Labasa and back.
We strongly recommend The House of Bamboo for a lovely vacation spot. Don't forget the sunscreen - the sun is powerful in Fiji!!!
Thank you very much Gretchen and Glendon. It was such a pleasure meeting you both. Vinaka for being such clean, considerate, friendly and easy going guests, exactly the kind of guests we love! We would recommend you to all your future hosts and hope the future brings you back to Savusavu.
It's hard to put into words how beautiful this property is and how amazing our vacation was. The view is breathtaking and the hospitality of Bruce, Jen & Jolene ... well let's say we were never treated like strangers but rather like old friends coming for a visit.
The stairs are a bit daunting ... you will be thankful for the seat at the top as most times we collapsed right there to catch our breath! The mosquitoes were aplenty (bug spray is a MUST), and getting/keeping hot water running was a challenge. But, I wouldn't trade a thing to stay in a resort. It was so cool to go to town, visiting various markets for our supplies. The people in Savasavu are welcoming and friendly ... one couple befriending us and inviting us to dinner in their home our 2nd night there. A whole different world than what we are used to!!!
An outing on Bruce's catamaran is a must! It was one of the highlights of our trip. If a visit to Fiji is not on your bucket list, add it ... you will have the time of your life!!!
The House of Bamboo si trova in una zona conosciuta come Lesiaceva, a pochi passi dal Cousteau Resort ea circa 6 km dal comune di Savusavu. Situato sulle rive tranquille della baia di Savusavu. Sulla seconda isola più grande delle Figi, Vanua Levu. Questa zona è conosciuta come The Hidden Paradise, cliché-ish ma vero. Qui sperimenterai la vera ospitalità delle Fiji e ti sentirai davvero come se fossi da qualche parte fuori dai sentieri turistici ben calpestati. Alcuni sostengono che Savusavu rievoca parti delle Hawaii molto prima che diventasse quello che è oggi. Savusavu è accessibile in aereo da Nadi con Pacific Sun. Ci sono anche traghetti regolari da Lautoka e Suva. Una volta arrivati, è possibile rilassarsi e distendersi o organizzare charter di pesca, immersioni o vela. Magari potresti anche visitare la fattoria di perle nere locali o semplicemente oziare e riscoprire l'arte del relax. Il servizio di trasferimento dall'aeroporto di Savusavu è incluso nella tariffa, così come lo starter pack e le chiamate locali gratuite e l'accesso a Internet a banda larga wifi.
Altre attività: oziare nella propria amaca, dormire in una bure all'aperto o semplicemente fare un tuffo in piscina.